Are you nourishing yourself?

My client is a diabetic.  When I asked him about his relationship with food, he was surprised by my question.   He said he takes no interest in food.  He has no liking for it.  He confessed that the last time he relished a meal was 10 years ago, when he went on a holiday with friends.  For ten years, he has had absolutely no interest, curiosity or appreciation for the healthy food his wife cooks for him.  He says that expensive, fresh fruit lie before him, but he will not eat it, despite knowing it is good for him.  Meals are treated like inconvenient necessities. During the meal itself, his attention is continually on his business, or on the television news.  “Further,” he added, “I often repeat to my children stories of our difficult times, when having food on the table was a challenge. I have to say I tend to emphasize the poverty rather than any gratitude for today.”

He went on, “For that matter, I have lost touch with all friends.  I have no hobbies and I don’t take interest in grooming myself either.   I just don’t seem to care for myself at all.”  He was stunned by all that had been triggered by my one question.

Our attitude towards food is a great metaphor for the extent of nourishment and nurturing that we allow our self.  Just like the air we breathe, these inputs are what allow us to enjoy a healthy life.  If we treat it with casual disdain, or even worse, an inconvenience that we somehow have to get over and done with, what degree of self care and benefits are we affording ourselves?

Because he had recently purchased Louise Hay’s You Can Heal Your Life, I asked him if he had read the affirmation suggested for diabetes.  With a sheepish look, he confessed he hadn’t.  I shared it:  “This moment is filled with joy. I now choose to experience the sweetness of today.”  

In the last session, he had successfully learnt how to use EFT to get himself to exercise on a daily basis.  We now discussed how he can shift his relationship with food using EFT and awareness.

I would be happy if this article were to provoke a similar self appraisal for other readers.  Any issues that arise out of such introspection can be addressed through a conscious shift in habits.  If required, you may like to try EFT for yourself.   You can download a free one-pager here, or get my book Emotional Freedom Techniques.

Related Article: Lifelines – and why we cut them off

Leave a comment

Filed under Healing Foods, Meal Experience

Leave a Reply

