Meeting Points + Recipe Spinach Vegetable Rice

“Do not do unto others as you expect they should do unto you. Their tastes may not be the same.” ~ George Bernard Shaw

Consider this – on one occasion, I had some friends over and asked whether they would like some tea. Ended up preparing a boiled chai with ginger, one without ginger, black tea with lemon, one green tea, one black coffee without sugar, one cold coffee with full milk and a few more.  You get the idea, I am sure.

Everyone has their own tastes, preferences and priorities. Meeting of interests and a commonality in ideas and values can generate much togetherness and synergy.  The tendency can be to start expecting this similarity to spill over into most, if not all areas.  However, this need not be the case.  Everyone has their own approach, likes and dislikes and simply because there is a common agreement in some of these –  it need not extend to all areas.  

While it seems an obvious observation, in hindsight, I realize that it took me a while to remember this and to stop making any such assumptions about another, regardless of how well you feel you know them.  Such assumptions could lead to misunderstandings or differences that can be avoided.

I have also found it useful to remember that there should be no insistence to convert others to your point of view.  If someone believes he must have his meat for protein intake, so be it.  If another feels he must go vegan, so be it.  Everyone has their own reasons, understanding and compulsions.  Just as I have my own.  So live and let live.

Hence, today, while I may share what I have learnt, or how I feel about things, there is no longer any forceful attempt to convince another of my chosen ways.  As Gibran said beautifully, “Say not, I have found the truth, but rather, I have found a truth.

This post came about as I was preparing a meal for a friend.  I wanted to use spinach and mushrooms and for me, cheese goes beautifully with the two.  But my friend avoids dairy.  So I made this tasty, nutritious fried rice instead.  When I told him this, he said, “But a little cheese would have been okay.  You didn’t have to change plans.”

The point being – when you respect each other’s opinion and give the space – people are more than likely to meet you half way 🙂

Spinach, Mushroom, Broccoli fried rice

Ingredients

15-20 Spinach leaves, chopped
1 large Red Onion, thinly sliced
4 large Portabella Mushrooms, thinly sliced
2 or 3 large florets of Broccoli, sliced long
1/2 cup semi cooked green peas
1 tomato, thinly sliced
5 cloves garlic, chopped
1 Red Bird’s Eye Chilly
Soy Sauce
Salt
Pepper
Sugar
1 tablespoon oil

2 cups cooked Rice

Method:

Fry onions, garlic and chilly. Add mushrooms, broccoli and seasonings. Stir a few minutes on heat. Add spinach. Once it has wilted, add rice, peas and lastly, the sliced tomato.

1 Comment

December 20, 2012 · 9:16 am

One response to “Meeting Points + Recipe Spinach Vegetable Rice

  1. Pingback: 9 Buffet Tips That Can Be Applied To Life | Serene Expression

Leave a Reply

